What’s in a name?

“What’s in a name?……”
Shakespeare

I have really old memories associated with that quote which go back to my school days where my friend used to often quote it saying “Shakespeare said what’s in a name and below that he wrote his name!” It cracked me up every time I heard it! 😛

 Hello!

When I started this blog and had to choose a username, I didn’t really have time to think of a proper name because I was more concerned and excited about what I want to share on this blog, plus WordPress told me I can change my username whenever I want to! But as a new hijabi I wanted to use the term “hijabi” in my name.. so now all I needed to find was a an adjective to prefix it! After some thought I gave in to “potential hijabi”, one of the reasons being I had read an article recently that used this name and it was lingering in my mind… plus it sounded cool! 😛

But on a more serious note, It also was a reminder to me that I have the potential to be a hijabi not just outwardly but also inwardly. I selected this name so that every time I felt I couldn’t do it anymore I would remind myself that Alhumdulillah I have the potential to be a hijabi… I have the potential to put my nafs down to fight it and be modest not just in my dressing sense but also be modestly beautiful in my character. I have the potential to be a good muslimah, a righteous muslimah and above all I have the potential to be a slave of Allah!

Having said that what is it that made me change my pen name then? Well, when I started writing for Habibi Halaqas and started interacting with other sisters, I realised this name was not exactly portraying what I wanted to! I occasionally started getting comments on articles I wrote or comments I left in other blogs where people prayed that I wore the hijab soon and you know things like that! Don’t get me wrong I did not take it personally, alhumdulillah I was happy getting those duas from concerned sisters! BUT when I started the Guide For Teenage Muslimah series I realised that sticking to this name wouldn’t be right anymore. Because inshaAllah if my dear teenage muslimahs dropped in to read my articles to get some inspiration from it, then it might confuse them that while I am preaching about wearing the hijab I myself am still a “potential” hijabi meaning still working on putting on the hijab!

So I began brainstorming for other potential names.. finally after lots of thinking and discussion with Nasmira, we zeroed in on Aasiya Maryam. I did have thoughts on using my real name, but after praying istikhaara I had this strongly feeling of choosing the former over the later. So Aasiya Maryam it was! 🙂 alhumdulillah

But why Aasiya Maryam? Because these two of the four best women of paradise – Aasiya radiallahu anha’ and Maryam alayhi salaam are my personal favourite! I pray that Allah blesses me with a strong eeman like that of Aasiya radiallahu anha‘ who stood firm in her faith no matter what life brought her way. She may have had all the materialistic pleasures of the world but that didn’t illusion her from praying for a home with Allah in Jannatul Firdaus! On the other hand, Maryam alayhi salaam for her faith and complete trust in Allah, for believing and living by the name Ar-Razakh, for her piety and piousness! I pray Allah grants me and all of us the ability to live by His name Ar-Razakh the way she did.

There are still times where I wonder if I should write with my real name, but every time I am down with this dilemma I ask for Allah’s help and he shows me signs that tell me I should just stick to being anonymous and being known as Aasiya Maryam aka Potential Hijabi! 🙂

Anyways, so that is the long due story behind why and how potentialhijabi became Aasiya Maryam! 😀

On a side note, interestingly I came across this hadith today:

It was narrated from Ibn ‘Umar that a daughter of ‘Umar was called ‘Aasiyah (disobedient), but the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) renamed her Jameelah (beautiful). Narrated by Muslim, 2139.

Just had a panic attack until I found out that the “‘Aasiyah” mentioned in the hadith is spelt with a ayn and means disobedient, whereas Aasiyah the wife of Firaun is spelt with alif! SubhanAllah and alhumdulillah… I don’t have to change my pen name again, inshaAllah!! 😀

I leave you with this hadith on importance of having good names and giving your child a good name:

It is reported in a hadith that the Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) said, “You will be called on the Day of Resurrection by your names and the names of your fathers, so have good names.” (Reported by Abu Dawud)

 

Image Source: Google

Had to add this, I found it way too cute, mashaAllah! 😀

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatahu 🙂

9 thoughts on “What’s in a name?

  1. It was a nice read! (:
    I learned something new…..That is about the name Aasiya. Jazakillah!

    • Aasiya says:

      Jazakallahu-khair 🙂
      That’s interesting right? You know i was thinking if a word can be so different imagine the transliteration of a dua when we read .. Allah forbid if we pronounce it wrong we could be saying something completely different! May Allah it easy for us to learn Arabic with proper tajweed!

  2. I was under the impression ‘Aasiya which means disobedient is the same name Phir’oun’s wife had!
    You are right about the transliteration. Personally, I prefer reading in Arabic as I have problem in reading transliteration and understanding it at times. (:
    Aameen to your du’aa’.

  3. Dreamlife says:

    JazakAllah so much for sharing that. Our daughter’s name is Maryam, and if the next child (due August insha-Allah) is also a girl, Aasiyah is the name we’re thinking of…so a seemingly-small spelling issue like this is actually extremely helpful.

    • Aasiya says:

      BarakaAllahu feek 🙂 Alhumdulillah I am really glad it helped! Oh mashaAllah.. May Allah bless you with a righteous child who will be a comfort to your eyes!

  4. Nasmira says:

    Soooo much for a name…remember all the brainstorming we had to do..remember how I told you, you would have a real tough time choosing a name for your kid one fine day inshaAllah ? 😛
    Learnt something new about Aasiya today! jazakumAllahu khayran! 🙂

    • Aasiya says:

      haha yess!! 😀 I think I’ll just name my daughter Aasiya in the future, inshaAllah 😛 I soo badly wanted to name my daughter Maryam.. but my cousing used it already :/ I told u I guess no? Having said that it reminds me of the Umm Maryam idea! LOL 😀

      I knoww me too.. alhumdulillah learnt something from writing this post too 😀 ..BarakaAllah Feek! 🙂

Leave a Reply

