The right remedy at those depressing times..


“Seek help in patience and As-Salat(the prayer). Truly, Allah is with the As-Sabirun(the patient).” (2:153)

Something strange happened yesterday.

I was in a very low mood in college! Throughout the week my positive energy had been drained, I wasn’t able to concentrate in class. The depression was sinking in again. The first 2 hours of college, as I sat in class, my mind messed with various thoughts, I wondered how far will I be able to take it! How can I stop being sensitive?! How can I stop being sad about the things that are past now! How do I ever get over everything if I am being reminded of it every single day?!

As I sat there fighting these thoughts away I begged Allah(SWT) to help me! I asked the Almighty to bestow his mercy on me and make it easy for me! I begged him to show me a way out of this and to not let me be a slave to the pleasures of this dunya ever again! I pleaded Him to not to let me go away from Him ever again!!

During the break I sat in class, put my head down on the desk and staring into space I dropped a tear! I then decided I needed some fresh air and walked out of class. I found 2 of my friends in the corridor and joined them. But again I stood there without uttering a single word, totally lost in my thoughts! And what I heard next suprised me!..

My non-muslim friend turned towards me, looking at me for a few seconds, and with a smile, she said, “GO PRAY! :)”.. A sudden rush took over me and for a second I couldn’t believe my ears, I felt as if Allah was using her as a mediator to tell me what was the right thing to do at the moment. Help had come from my Lord, and he’d shown me exactly what I should do. I looked at my watch, with ample time by my side to offer Namaz-e-Duha, I smiled at her and with words “I think I’l do that” I walked to the library to pray.

I offered 2 rakah namaz. Tears rushed through my eyes as I made dua and asked Allah to never let me go, to stay by my side, to help me. I told Him that I trusted He had something better in store for me, so as of today I just needed a little help from him to go through this.

When I got up to leave, as I walked towards my class with a smile, I couldnt help but thank Allah(swt) for showing me the right thing to do at the depressing times in this life. Alhumdulillah, alhumdulillah, how Merciful is my Lord! πŸ™‚

So next time, when you are depressed, get up and stand in prayer. Surely Allah’s help is just round the corner! πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “The right remedy at those depressing times..

  1. Melissa Habiba Khadija says:

    Sooo amazing, I am super happy this happened to you! SubhanAllah! I hope you are having a great Ramadan so far. Love from Germany πŸ™‚

    • potentialhijabi says:

      Alhumdulillah! πŸ™‚ .. Yes, trying my best to make the best use for the blessed month, Alhumdulillah! .. Hope u are having a great ramadan too!!:)
      P.S. Feel over-whelmed when i read those words sister, “love from germany” πŸ˜€ .. Subhan’allah , all praise be to Allah that we are able to connect inspite of being miles apart! Love u for the sake of Allah! πŸ™‚

  2. Nasmira says:

    Wow!!! He sends reminders in the most interesting and unexpected way doesn’t He? Those who have put their reliance in him, He shall open doors from places unknown! All we have to do is turn to Him repeatedly πŸ™‚ ❀ ❀

Leave a Reply

