Being “Religious”…

Religious. Ever since I started wearing the hijab and sharing more & more islamic articles on my facebook page, I have a feeling that everyone thinks I’m getting way too religious. In fact, a friend even went to the extent of telling me that they were not very comfortable to talk to people who are so religious. Anyway I care less of what people want to think of me now. Seriously, I am not gona live a life to please the world now, Inshallah. If I am sure what I am doing is right in the court of Allah S.W.T then I have absolutely no problem who thinks what of me, Alhumdulillah. If you think I am religious, Yes I am. If you think I am extremist.. So be it! No one but my Lord knows who I am, and I am here to please Him alone.

This article by Sr.Sarira defines being “RELIGIOUS” beautifully.. Read on..

We’re living in a time when many people don’t want to be ‘considered religious’, and that’s mainly because many people confuse ‘what being religoius means’. I thought I would…come to the rescue and offer my definition (which is completely basedย on Islamic texts/traditions).
Being religious means being gentle to your parents, treating your neighbors good, having a connection with the Supreme Creator, the Compassionate and the Just.
Being religious means understanding your purpose on this Earth is to worship the One who created you, created the stars, the universe, the Earth.
Being religious means being peaceful, it means honoring your promises, it means treating people like brothers and sisters, it means not harming yourself or harming others, it means calling your friends with names that they like, not talking about people behind their back .
Being religious means trusting in Allah. It means loving Allah and taking Him as a Protector, and a Victor: He will bring you victory.
Being religious does not mean acting better than those who are not as knowledgable as you in religion (in terms of rules, etc.). Allah hates those who brag. Being religious does not mean judging people: you never know. Who ever you judge and deem as stupid and worthless, might be loved by Allah.
Being religoius does’nt mean ‘knowing theoretical rules of religion and the hadiths’ but going around bragging , acting superior to everyone, turning your back on others. That would be irreligious!

Being religious means fighting a war with Shaitan everyday against temptation. It means fighting ignorance and the dark.

Being religious means following these two ayas:”Allah commands you to do justice, kindness and give charity to relatives and forbids you from all acts of lewdness, evil, and rebellion.” “(Men and womenย of Allah) Control their anger, and forgive people; Allah likes righteous people.”
Being religious means giving charity; caressing the head of an orphan, forgiving people, and not accusing people of things they have not committed. It is not lying, it is saying the truth, it is not being racist. A white is not better than a black, and a Arab is not better than a foreigner and a foreigner is not better than an Arab except in taqwa (piety).

Being religious is striving to live the way Allah has ordained. It’s repenting when making a mistake. It’s giving the da’awa kindly and correcting mistakes gently. It’s turning to Allah always, and always…

๐Ÿ™‚

Photobucket
P.S. If you’re wondering what jihad is, you can see anonymous’s question in the Islam 101 post and my answer ๐Ÿ™‚
5 thoughts on “Being “Religious”…

  1. Asalamu aliakaum, Hey Potential HIijabi ๐Ÿ˜€
    It’s “Sarira” here. I write under “Little Auntie” now ๐Ÿ˜€ Not sure if you’ve seen that blog, but if you have, I’d love you to share your insights, inshaAllah ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyways, I think you’ve got the right attitude. It doesn’t matter what people say. ๐Ÿ™‚ I wanna give you a big ‘ole hug for putting the hijab on and trying to become ‘more religious’. Along the way we sometimes lose some friends but we gain the ultimate ‘friend’- Allah subhanoo Wa’ Tala ๐Ÿ˜€ We just gotta stay strong ๐Ÿ™‚

    And hey thanks for liking and linking back to that post ๐Ÿ˜€

    • potentialhijabi says:

      Walaikum Assalam ๐Ÿ™‚
      Very very glad to read ur comment here ๐Ÿ™‚ Alhumdulillah .. Jazakallahu Kayra for the big hug .. Love u for the sake of Allah! ๐Ÿ™‚ .. Oh yes I have seen and bookmarked ur blog.. Mashallah u girls are doing a great job! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Yup you are right .. Allah SWT is actually all we need.. and if we have Him then v have everything Alhumdulillah ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. […] Post navigation ← Previous […]

  3. Jazakhallah Khair for suggesting this article sister! Mashallah it’s beautiful! Made my day ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

