My Journey in a nutshell

And whatever of misfortune befalls you, it is because of what your hands have earned. And He pardons much. [Noble Quran 42:30].

I’d been a terrible Muslimah for the past few years, Astaghfirullah. The things I’d done and the choices I’d made had led me to nowhere. Darkness was all that surrounded me, I would cry, cry and cry until my tears had dried. I did not know how to end it all, I did not know how to make the pain go away. I would talk to everyone I possibly could about my ‘worldly’ problems but nothing helped to overcome the darkness I’d led myself into.

This went on for more than a year. Finally, with the guidance of Allah(SWT) I started praying my 5 daily prayers. I happened to find this quote one day which said-

“When life brings you down, You are in best position to pray!”

Subhanallah, this was so true. Once i started offering my prayers and listening to the holy Quran once in a while, it is then that I realised how much better I actually feel when I’m praying and reading the Quran. And the days I couldnt pray I would take to dhikr of Allah, Alhumdulillah.

At times when my heart would long to do that which I know I should avoid .. I would , Alhumdulillah, constantly begin to read ,Astaghfirullah (O Allah! Forgive Me).

And at the times when my heart would long for the things I’d lost I’d read –

“To Allah we Belong and unto him we return.”

It would keep reminding me of the fact that this world and the things of this world are temporary. Everything in the heaven and earth belongs to Allah. He has as much right to take away what is his, as much right he has to give us what he wants, Alhumdulillah.

Those few months where I kept reading the above verse.. was just the beginning of my journey towards the Almighty!

To be continued..

Leave a Reply

